My Birthday – Take Two Parts 3, 4 & 5!

As mentioned during my birthday re-do, on day 3 I had a lazy day ending with a pedicure. Yesterday, day 4, Doug took me to McEwan‘s for some brie cheese with truffle and P.E.I. grass-fed rib eye steaks – both had for dinner. We also bought other types of cheese (they have a wonderful selection) including two of my faves – Backburn and Grey Owl. We made Caesar salad dressing from scratch – first time. And now probably the only way I’ll ever want to have it!

And today? Well, today is NYE. It is day 5 of my birthday celebration because I wanted to stretch my birthday out to the end of the year.

The thing is, nothing big or extravagant was done on each of the days I prolonged my 44th. Nothing special happened really on any of those days.

Except one thing – to indulge in the peaceful quietness with back and forth moments of solitude and being with my family. That’s all I ever wanted. For this and past birthdays.

In fact, if Doug is able to take time off work, I am hoping we go away next year for my birthday and NYE. I have asked Doug if there’s a chance we can rent something in Collingwood so we can ski, board and snowshoe. I want to be even further away from the noise of the city. I want to be surrounded by a true winter wonderland where the snow muffles the outside noise. I want to snuggle up to the fireplace, with Hobbes lying next to me, and lose myself in a good book.

That is my hope.

Leave a Reply

