Proudest Moment as a Mother

When I think back to all the times I have been proud of my child, all were pretty much explainable… not being afraid of being separated from me on her first day of pre-school, learning to ride a bike on her own, report card after report card of mostly A’s (usually no more than one B – in French), academic awards, being a natural at the trumpet, finding her love for skiing, showing her compassion and generosity to her friend who gets picked on a lot, etc.

The list goes on.

None of this, however, compares to something which happened this past week.

It was what happened during her Science Fair (or STEM project which they call it now) presentation. Yes – of course I was proud of her project. And her presentation which went pretty smoothly. This time, it was more about how she handled the Q&A session at the end of her presentation. More to the point, how she handled one conceited, egotistical, annoying, know-it-all girl, whom I only needed to spend about 30 seconds with at my daughter’s birthday party this year to sum up my thoughts on her (i.e. “I really do not like this kid”).

My kid’s project was on the human’s short term memory and the studies based on the fact in which humans’ have a harder time remembering (or taking in new information) greater than three, on average. “Average” being the key word.

And yes, the studies have shown that the average can range between three and seven for short term memory. Point is, her project was basing it on the lowest common denominator – which was the number 3. Of which the data she collected when testing human subjects, proved her point.

Anyway – the know-it-all brat of course, had to point out that she read somewhere, that seven was actually recorded as the maximum number of ‘content’ a person can remember at one time.

Of course she had to point that out. She always likes to point out what she knows in any situation where it makes another person feel small.

Rather than getting upset, my kid looked at her and said, firmly, “Yes. So what is your question.”

My husband and I responded, “You said that???”

“Yes,” She said, “She was being annoying.”

“Right on! High five!”

“What?”

“High five, man! She deserved it!”

“I also went back to explain some studies showed it could be up to 7 remembered things… but that my project was based on three.”

“So did she say anything back?”

“No. That made her shut up.”

So this… this is the proudest moment I have ever had in my life as a parent.

I know she was showing a bit of attitude back to this kid. I know, perhaps, she wasn’t  being the kindest, and I’m sure the teachers would disagree with me – they would say that she should have been more diplomatic. But I don’t care. This is real life. And sometimes she needs to put these types of people in their face and to send that message not to mess with her.

Leave a Reply

