Relaxation is Hard Work

I’m sitting here in our living room by the bay window. What a gorgeous morning. The sun is out. The air is crisp but not at all cold. I breathed it in deeply as I took Hobbes out for his morning habitual tinkle. I definitely have to go for a walk today, were my exact thoughts.

But I’m still in my PJ’s. And I’m still on my first cup of coffee.

Hobbes-the-dog is next to me. Snoring. Because you know, his morning potty break was exhausting.

As inviting as it is outside, I’ll be perfectly honest – the thought of staying in my PJ’s all day doing pretty much, well, nothing… sounds pretty damn good too!

Our good friends came over yesterday to pick-up C  for the movies. It was 2.5 hrs of being kid-free. Yet, all I did was work and clean the house. And to order the sushi/sashimi trays for dinner later on that evening when they all returned from Kung-Fu Panda 3.

A good evening… And with all the major work done yesterday, I definitely have earned my free-Sunday to just chill.

Yet, it is hard to relax. I always have this problem. I go on for months working steadily. And when I get a moment to relax, I don’t always know how to get into that mode. In fact, I’ve even been working hard at scheduling relaxation time into my weekly schedule. I know I’m not alone in this – I think a lot of people fall into this trap. And I believe with the way the work force is now in North America, it’s become a commonality.

I’m still amazed, though, that it requires this much energy to factor in relaxation and leisure time, followed my more energy to actually achieve it and stick with it!

It just goes to show how backwards our society has become.

I need to move to Germany where production is efficient and high, yet overtime results in a hefty labor fine (to the company) and holidays/vacation time are abundant.

But I don’t speak German so that plan is pretty much null.

 

Leave a Reply

