Caribbean Regal Princess Cruise 2015 – St. Thomas and St. Maartan

Red wine tasting on the Regal PrincessOne thing we did on this cruise was to agree to not worry so much about how much we were spending. And I’m thankful of this decision. We work too hard not to have to stress about saving every penny and nickel when we go on vacation. Luckily, we never seem to want anything that are beyond our ability to pay. However, I wanted to make some memories and experience what we could.

One of the best things we did for ourselves was join the Super Tuscan Wine tasting. The above photo is one of the example food pairings we indulged in. With several pairings of about the best red wines I’ve ever tastes, we had an equally delicious food pairing. It wasn’t an expensive fee – $40 US each. My husband and I will talk about this experience in years to come.

Another luxury I gave myself was a spa pedicure. I can not stress how important this was for me to treat myself. I always wanted to know what it was like to use Princess’ Lotus Spa and now I know it’s going to be a must-do anytime I’m cruising.

I sat across these beautiful large windows in brand new, spa pedicure, massage chairs, sipping green tea and watching the ocean water.

The pedicure service was amazing. My feet were smooth and soft like a baby’s bottom when I was done! My legs were exfoliated up to the knees as well. Heaven!

Emerald Beach St. ThomasWhen we arrived at St. Thomas, all we really wanted to do was spend a day at the beach. We found that the smaller and less popular Emerald beach not too far from port. It was exactly what we were looking for – secluded and not jammed pack like the other bigger tourist trap.

I’m not a sandy-beach type of person but after finding a spot under a tree, I was happy to just be all lazy like while reading my book.

Escargot & beer by St. Maarten beachWhen we first arrived in St. Maarten and took a ferry over to the dutch side, we did a bit of walking before stopping for a bite to eat. I have to admit, the food was not good at all. I ordered a grilled chicken Caesar but wasn’t quite sure it was chicken. I was also waiting to see if I got food poisoning. I ate what I could and then pushed the rest aside.

Now, the very large escargot drizzled with garlic and herb butter with a bottle of Amstel beer was where it was at! And had I have known, I would have just ordered more of this with a side of small garden salad. Maybe next time. Plus, there’s really nothing like sitting on a shaded patio right on the beach, drinking a bottle of cold beer.

St. Maarten dutch sideThe shopping district was interesting but what we enjoyed the most was going off the beaten path. The above is the image we saw as we started to leave the tourist area, finding our way through to the residential zones.

St Maarten port - feeding dockside fishBefore leaving, we went to the dock area of the ferry with some buns I brought from the ship. This was more for my kid’s sake. I gave her the buns and away she went, tearing small pieces and throwing them into the water. There were already a variety of different schools of fish waiting for the free give-away.

Regal Princess at seaWe spent the last two days at sea as we made our way back to Port Everglades, Ft. Lauderdale. What a beautiful, calming view. A lot of fun memories were made both on and off the ship. Looking forward to our next cruise in a few years.

One thought on “Caribbean Regal Princess Cruise 2015 – St. Thomas and St. Maartan

  1. We went on an Eastern Caribbean cruise for our babymoon with our son and enjoyed it immensely. I’m glad you had a great time with your cruise. You’re right about not worrying too much about money for your vacation, you’ve earned it!

Leave a Reply

