Taking Care of Me

selfieAs I reflect on this past, crazy summer, I must admit it was not my ideal. There were a lot things I really wanted to do but I just didn’t have the time (free time) to do them all. And when I did have the little free time that appeared in small doses here and there, I was too tired to plan any of those things (fun things with friends and family).

What I found I needed more was moments of downtime. Lots of little moments. Whether it was spending 30 minutes reading at Starbucks or getting a manicure or pedicure on my lunch break. Whatever I could do.

pedicureThis was a tough balance for me. There’s one thing, even when work and home life is crazy-busy, I prefer to spend my free time being active. And what I mean is, outside of my morning cardio and after work strength training or yoga, I like to be out and about. Especially outdoors. Being stuck under fluorescent lighting 40+ hours a week in an office definitely makes me yearn to be outside on weekends (or even in the evening). So it was a struggle to find that balance of meeting both of these needs that are on the opposite ends of each other.

There are so many hours in a day – how I use my free time can be limited. Do I go for that one hour hike? Or site on my couch and read instead? Most times, I couldn’t do both.

biceps from p90xI’m glad that I kept on working out, though. Even though I’ve been scaling down my workout routine as I do every summer. The above is the very first selfie I’ve ever taken of my results!

Yes, they are small biceps but I’m just happy there’s some definition. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

