ten books no. 4 (new years 2014 resolutions)

[on-going documentation of new year’s 2014 resolutions – sub-section under ten books]

blankets by craig thompsonAs busy as I have been, I’ve actually gotten to my fourth book of my ten books resolution. Judging that it’s August as of tomorrow, though, it still means I’m behind. But I won’t let that stop me from trying.

This lovely graphic novel (for adult reading as it touches on some pretty gritty subject matters) sucked me in to the mind of the author as he transcribes his childhood, youth and adolescent years through poetic writing and incredible illustrations.

Throughout the entire book, I would say that dark contrasts with light, evil with good, beauty with ugly. Symbolism of this contrasting relationship is seen throughout his writing. It’s both beautiful and sad as the author is clouded by such darkness. There is, however, moments of joy and purity, though always threatening to be just at arms length.

Leave a Reply

