ten books no. 3 (new years 2014 resolutions)

[on-going documentation of new year’s 2014 resolutions – sub-section under ten books]

The Secret GardenYeesh. I know. It’s June – we’re nearing the halfway mark of the year and I’ve only completed three of my ten books as part of my new year’s  resolutions.

I’m not giving up, though. Even though the chances of reading all ten books might not be the result at the end of 2014. Still, I’ll keep going and try to read as much as I can.

I actually finished The Secret Garden over a month ago and have since been having trouble deciding what to read next. I think I’ve started three or four different books only to change my mind not even halfway through the first chapter.

What can I say – I’m busy these days. And when I’m not busy, I’m restless because I’m so use to being busy.

The Secret Garden is a children’s classic – one which Chaeli’s grade 4 class is reading for the 2nd half of their school year. At first, I thought I would read the same book in case she had any difficulties with whatever concepts were being discussed in her class. It turns out, she doesn’t need my help but we have had a chance to have some discussions surrounding the main themes of this book.

I will say this, this is a delightful piece of literature. And as a parent, it graces so many areas of concern when we raise our children and as to what type of person they develop into.

Topics of what happens to a spoiled child when they are faced with sudden hardships, how adapting to change is key to survival, trust and friendships, respect for others, developing a certain level of “toughness” (while maintaining a compassionate heart)… these are things I’ve talked to Chaeli about thanks to reading The Secret Garden.

Okay – so now that I’ve blogged about book 3, I need to get serious about reading book 4. I’m drawn back to Haruki Murakami as I do at the beginning of every summer.

Leave a Reply

