taking it easy – with help from jon

jon bon jovi

it’s sunday.

i woke up from a very pleasant dream with the above man gracing his presence during my nocturnal drift. in my dream, i dreamt about work. there was a lot of stress in my dream. new management (i.e. new bosses) wanted me to figure out things that were not under my area of expertise. i was still tied to my old boss, somehow, in regards to networking… we had an argument. i was pissed at him. co-workers, past and present, were not being cooperative.

and then, a moments break within all this dream madness, had me in a coffee shop. i just walked away from it all just to take a break. as i waited for the barista to hand over my coffee, jon bon jovi was standing there next to me. he was so open. so friendly. we started talking right away.

the bar where people were waiting for their order was really crowded. he was sitting on a stool and let me lean on him. but the leaning was not just physical. it was supporting me emotionally as well. everything his body language communicated to me was, you need to take a breather.

so, no, it wasn’t that type of dream. nothing naughty, i’m afraid. while i find this celebrity sexier now in his 50’s (what is it about men looking even better in their 50’s?) for whatever reason, my subconscious mind chose him to be my voice of reason. how fun is that! it’s like a bit of humour my subconsciousness was trying to add in… a message of, lighten up! here… let me give you jon bon jovi for the night…

sure, there were some innocent flirting. why not give my ego some stroking while it’s at it, right? i didn’t mind – i thoroughly enjoyed having jon’s gentleman-like, yet sexy, attention.

so, last night, i went to bed with plans to do a lot today. doug is on shift, chaeli is at her grandparents’ place… it was originally a day of getting a head start for the up coming week.

then i woke up. and asked myself, why?

i planned to wake up, have cereal and go to the gym for an hour cardio session. i then planned to fold laundry, load the dish washer, unload the dishwasher, make my breakfast, egg-white, veggie omelettes for the week… another workout at home, this time the chest and back p90x strength routine… and somehow, during all that, work on some projects for work.

on a sunday where we’re going to see spring-like conditions – sunny and double-digit temperature – why would i do that to myself?

would jon have agreed on this? of course not. my nocturnal angel of reason would have shaken his head, laughed and tell me to knock it off.

and so, i slept an hour more, got up to walk hobbes while enjoying the fresh, morning air, then came in for a leisurely breakfast. i’m now sipping my lovely, aromatic coffee while blogging. and googling images of jon while i’m at it.

there are things i still have to do today and that is the reality. my family needs clean underwear, of course. and the dishwasher IS full.

but what i will do – i will go out and take advantage of the sunny afternoon. i will take hobbes for a longer walk and just enjoy the smell of spring. and for sure, i’ll enjoy another cup of coffee this afternoon.

i’m learning to be more gentle to myself. sometimes, it starts with just the small stuff. with a little help of an 80’s rock icon.

Leave a Reply

