shy’s 41st birthday – hobbes’ loot

[this is part IV of my post-christmas posts – first post can be found here, second one here, and third one here]

yes, i will be posting about some of the things my dog got for christmas even though this post is really about my birthday. but all in all, hobbes almost got more than i made out this year. and definitely more than what i got for my birthday! though the value of my birthday gifts out-weighed his.

it’s just a little sad when your dog gets more spoiled than you!

anyway, the day was somewhat uneventful as it was yesterday (boxing day). we played more board games (mainly Mille Bornes which was from santa and doug taught chaeli some D&D from her gift to him – a beginner’s starter kit).

for dinner, we went out to a local pub (a true pub with traditional pub fare and proper selection of beer on tap) with my family. i did get some shout-outs from a couple of good friends plus my extended familly from thunder-bay. when you have a birthday that falls so closely to christmas, it’s one that’s usually over-looked.

i’m thankful of the family and friends that remember my birthday, though – year after year. there’s always 2 or 3 of the same friends whom never forget. at my age, the presents mean little but the action of remembering and wishing me a happy birthday is really all that it takes to make me feel good. it only takes two words – through text, email, voicemail… whatever. i don’t ask for much more because i really don’t need anything else to make my birthday special (other than spending it with my family, of course).

anyway – i had medium-spicy wings because their wings are tasty without being breaded (too much carbs) with a side garden salad. while i couldn’t indulge in fries, i ordered a veggie and dip platter for my apps and was full walking out (without being stuffed). afterwards, my family went to dairy queen. i went across the street and got myself a coffee from tim hortons, since i can’t have any dessert at the moment.

here’s a selection of hobbes christmas loot from this year:

dog christmas presents

hobbes’ 2013 loot

  1. Greenie
  2. Moose squeeky toy
  3. Pig’s ear
  4. Hide-a-Squirrel puzzle toy
  5. Smoked bone marrow beef bone
  6. Tennis ball with tail toy
  7. Various dehydrated sticks – venison, duck and bison
4 thoughts on “shy’s 41st birthday – hobbes’ loot

  1. Happy birthday! It sort of sucks to have a birthday between Christmas & New Year unless you think of the entire “holiday season” as part of your birthday celebration. I was always glad mine was in July so I had a special “me” day – but I’m a bit selfish like that! 🙂

    • thank you. i’ve always rather wished having my birthday outside of the holidays. all the celebrating so close together makes it actually a bit tiring. i don’t get a chance to have a me-day but i try to take one some time in january to make it up.

Leave a Reply

