dry shampoo

so this morning, for the first time, i tried tresemme’s dry shampoo spray:

http://www.tresemme.com/Products/Fresh-Start/Fresh-Start-Dry-Shampoo/

i’ve heard of dry shampoo before but only the ultra-salon-expensive kind. i don’t doubt the expensive ones work even better but i’ve had my bad experiences with spending way more for hair products at salons that totally didn’t work for me (at least it just didn’t appear any better from store-bought products).

so yesterday, i decided to give tresemme’s dry shampoo spray a go.

not bad at all! not a miracle-working product but definitely good enough if you need something to give your hair a boost inbetween washes. i wouldn’t go longer then 48 hours without a traditional wash, though. but i could see skipping the shampoo every other day by using this product.

i will say that this is perfect for anyone who has an active lifestyle. if you’re like me, you don’t have time nor want to damage your hair with muliple washes a day since you work out multiple times a day. especially if gym time is during lunch hour. this will be a gym-rat’s best friends.

10 thoughts on “dry shampoo

  1. hmm – i've been wondering about this. i spend too much money on coloring my hair and i wash my hair daily. i thought i could get longer life out of my color by only washing every other day, but my hair gets oily.
    maybe i'll give this a try!

  2. apparently, it's great for people who colour their hair since their colour lasts longer with less washing. it's not that expensive (can't remember how much i paid – i think it was less then $7). they have also a mousse shampoo for curly hair. the one above is for straight haired folks like me. šŸ™‚

  3. Thanks for reminding me about this. I read about this in Lucky magazine and wanted to give it a try. I get nappy hair sometimes after going to the gym and I don't have time to shower afterwards. Glad to know you gave it a good review.

  4. no problem. i should be honest, though – i read other people's reviews and it varies from person to person. some people hated it. others loved it.
    most who hated it complained about a white residue. i have no idea what they mean by that. i suspect they did not shake it enough. and you have to re-shake it (vigorously) before each spritz. after a minute or two, comb your hair and style as usual.
    i didn't comb, really. i just used my hands because i rather have that tousled look. anyway – it's affordable to try out. let me know how it goes. šŸ™‚

  5. nope. šŸ™‚ after a minute or two, you comb/brush your hair. there are minerals that soak up the dirt/oil so brushing or shaking your hair out will get rid of those unwanted particles.

  6. okay – i figured out how those people got the white residue.
    you have to hold it 8-12 inches away from your head. this morning, i accidentally had it about 5 to 6 inches away and THAT's how the white residue appears.

  7. I've been thinking of getting dry shampoo since I know we're not supposed to be shampooing our hair everyday, but it's nice to know that product actually works! thanks for the review.

  8. Thanks for the review. I've been considering trying a dry shampoo for a while. I shower every other day, except on days I sweat a lot during exercising but I usually don't wash my hair then, to prevent dry skin and to get longer life out of my hair color. Since my hair is so thin, it gets very flat when it's greasy. I can't stand the feeling of limp, flat hair against my scalp!

Leave a Reply

