guilty pleasures no. 30

i’ve still been feeling quite down lately. i’m still not trying to let it consume me and for the most part, i’m able to take it one day at a time. and trying to do whatever it takes to get me through the day.

learning from the past, this is the type of time where focusing on the small things that bring me pleasures in life will help me get through a difficult period. and after my post yesterday, i realized that i haven’t done a ‘guilty pleasures’ entry for a very long time. the last one was over a year ago!

so yesterday, i listed some of the small pleasures on my mind recently. andΒ i would like to take this opportunity to expand on one. simply because it’s the one that sticks out most for me, not just as an adult, but also looking back from my childhood. and that one thing is simply…

eating peanut butter from a spoon.

i still love doing this. and it’s never more then one or two small spoonfulls. i don’t mean sitting there with a jar and eating it with a spoon like i’m having ice cream or pudding.

just a spoonful is all it really takes.

yesterday, i did that. i have a small jar at work which i use for lunch on half a whole grain pita. just to give me a bit of protein while letting me indulge in some sweetness and fat. but i didn’t use it for lunch yesterday and so i don’t know – i just felt like eating some. and with that, i retrieved my spoon and dove in.

anyway, that’s one of my guilty pleasures.

i’m going to go ahead and read some of my archived posts that includes ‘guilty pleasures’ as a tag.

10 thoughts on “guilty pleasures no. 30

  1. That is a wonderful idea about doing small things when you are down. I shall have to try that. I love dark chocolate and sometimes I get that if I am out running errands….something special. I love the new Reese Cups in Dark Chocolate!! My problem is that my guilty pleasures involve either eating or buying. I need to learn some new ones πŸ™‚

  2. reese cups is now in dark chocolate cups? oh thank the heavens! i'm a huge dark chocolate fan. πŸ™‚ i mean, the regular stuff is good. lets face it, good quality chocolate is always good. but i can consume way more dark chocolate then regular. thanks for letting me know about the new reese cups! i'll be on a lookout for them this weekend when i go grocery shopping. πŸ™‚

  3. Not sure if this qualifies but I used to make cucumber and cream cheese sandwiches that all my friends loved and felt semi-healthy about. Unbeknownst to them, there was a thin layer of peanut butter hidden beneath the cream cheese. It added that special je ne sais quoi (or however you spell it)! They'd always say, "My sandwiches just don't taste like yours, I can't understand it." Sounds weird but peanut butter improves quite alot of things, esp. morale.

  4. it definitely qualifies. but i have to admit that adding peanut butter into such a 'high tea, british style' finger sandwich is something i've never thought of before. i'll have to give it a try! πŸ™‚

  5. I don't eat peanut butter often because I usually dislike what it adds to a dish, but I do like eating peanut butter by itself on occasion. I like the creamy, stick-to-the-roof-of-your-mouth texture and the nutty goodness. Oooh, but I do like Reese's Peanut Butter Cups! The white chocolate ones were my favorite. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

