damn teenage vampires!

the book arrived yesterday in the mail, thanks to enterthegreenhouse for lending it to me all the way from the west coast!

and yes, i have started it and yes, i can't seem to put it down.

what bugs me is that the reason why i can't put it down is because it's an incredibly easy read but not incredibly well written. all i have to say is – thank god it was geared towards young readers.

it's not horrible, either, though – just to clarify. while i haven't read anything geared towards the youth since harry potter (which also wasn't horribly written especially as it was also geared towards teens and younger), from what i can remember, it's definitely an improvement. at least it's not sweet-valley-high like (gawd – remember that series? no? then i'm obviously dating myself again).

this should be interesting… i'm only 1/8th into the book and the female protagonist, bella, is already getting on my nerves. though, i do like the male vampire, edward. i think what's extremely hard for me to swallow is… what does he see in HER? that's probably the reason why i'm just not convinced enough.

having said that, i am very thankful for a light and easy read.

i just finished (finally) reading confessions of a mask by yukio mishima. i love the way he writes and how he can really jerk your emotions around, but the book had some intense, violent imagery. i even had to put it down and walk away from it from time to time (partly why it took me two attempts to finish the book – though i also just got into a funk where i didin't feel like reading).

what a good read, though. i'm seriously thankful of mcco12 for introducing me to mishima. and i've only read two of his books from quite an impressive list of his work.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

8 thoughts on “damn teenage vampires!

  1. I remember Sweet Valley High. I read quite a few of the books when I was a little girl. No wonder high school was nothing like I'd imagined. =DConfessions of a Mask sounds really interesting. I searched it on Amazon after reading your post, and had to add it to my wish list!

  2. i got confessions of a mask from my local library – maybe your library carries it? either way, please do share our thoughts with me when you get a chance to read it! 🙂

  3. Once you get past the adverb-laden writing and just take it for what it is (young adult entertainment fiction) the Twilight series is really enjoyable. Not that we want to go back into the mind of the teenage girl, but I think she did a nice job of encapsulating that ball of insecurity in Bella. Though I also agree Edward is far more appealing and even a bit complex. Ahh yes, Sweet Valley High…. I used to think there was something wrong with me, not being blonde, a "perfect" size 6, and driving around town in a convertible …and thankfully I didn't dwell too much on that!

  4. Ha! I've always remembered the way they were described, too, and now it irritates me, when it used to make me feel insecure. What an awful way to describe "perfection" to young girls, when the vast majority of them will never be the "perfect" height of 5'6" or a "perfect" size 6. I haven't read many books geared toward teens or younger since, well, I was a teen or younger, but I hope we've moved on from that tripe.

  5. You're not dating yourself. I remember Sweet Valley High, Sweet Valley Twins, and the Babysitter's Club.
    Unfortunately, Bella does not get less annoying. I kept reading because Edward sounds hot. =)

  6. hey glad to see you are reading mishima. it's an odd book but a very influential one. the transsexual at the center of it is a real person, by the way, and was a japanese tv star for many years, though she's very very old now. she's very secretive about her real relationship with mishima and there is lots of speculation about it.

  7. i often wondered if the character was based on a real person. i actually thought he was writing about himself, growing up, since his sexual orientation was somewhat of a question mark.

Leave a Reply

