stephanie meyers – the new anne rice? i seriously doubt that…

the whole 'twilight' craze is still on the rise and probably will be until the movie hits the theatres this december.

i was a huge anne rice fan. her whole world of vampires and witches were captivating, especially the first three books in her vampire series. the world of vampire lestat had me in it's craze through my early 20's. when i try to read any of her books now, i do find it entertaining, but it lacks the magical vibe it use to have on me. i don't know why that is… perhaps her books speak to a certain age group, like stephanie meyer's vampire series speaks to teens? or has my taste in books changed?

anyway, i've been poking around some forums, finding adults from early 20's all the way to my age, seriously hooked onto meyers' series. which is all fine and dandy. but what kills me is that i read some one state that meyers has reinvented the whole genre.

apparently, the vampires in meyers' books are not portrayed as monsters, they can go into sunlight, they feed on animal blood rather then human blood and they have the abilities to fly, just to name a few reasons as to why the author has reinvented the vampire genre.

that's where i almost chimed in and told these youngsters that they had better do some research. anne rice did this already. i don't know if anne rice can be accounted for reinventing vampires in fictional work but if she did all those things with vampires then there is no way in hell that meyers can be accountable for reinventing anything.

i haven't read the book yet but have read enough reviews and summaries to conclude that she didn't do anything original, but just did a good enough job in creating a vampire book geared towards teens. which is something that was going to happen anyway – especially after the whole harry potter explosion.

having said that, my name is down on the library waiting list for 'twilight.'  i'm #442 of 1274 on the list. somehow, i don't think i'll get it before christmas.

let the record show, i'm only reading this book because i always look for light-reads during the thick of winter AND i want to truly see why people are comparing rice to meyers. if my guess is correct, there shouldn't even be any comparison. rice is not a the greatest of writers but she did put a mark on vampire history in the pop-culture world.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

13 thoughts on “stephanie meyers – the new anne rice? i seriously doubt that…

  1. I have to admit, I haven't read a lot of Anne Rice's works but I did manage to read a few chapters of Interview with a Vampire and there is no way that Meyers and Rice are on the same level.

  2. I have to agree with you. I love Rice but did read the Meyers books as my sister raved about them. I was disappointed. I think vampires should be scary and creepy not all friendly and nice. Meyer's ones seemed a bit boring for my taste. Curious to hear what you think when you do read them.

  3. I went out to Chapters last week and bought the first 2 in the Meyers series. They are waiting for me to get through another book first. I was not a huge fan of Rice, though I read the first 2 of the original series, while my husband devoured everything Rice wrote. The jury may be out for a while.PS: Once I read the first, I can check in with you, shy, to see if you are still waiting on the library. Perhaps I will send you mine.

  4. that's very generous of you! and then after i'm done with it, i can pass it on to cath! 🙂 seriously, though – if you like it enough to keep it in your library collection, you should. though if you're like me, i only keep the books i can see myself reading over and over again throughout my life. everything else is borrowed from the library or friend, or given to me as a gift.so you didn't like rice? i have to admit that the first 3 of her vampire lestat series was the best. everything else sort of went downhill. her mayfair witches was pretty good. as was her stand-alone novel about the mummy, ramses. even still, i did feel that her writing style got really annoying after awhile. and i think that's what puts some people off from her. sometimes she's overly descriptive.

  5. I'm with you, Shy. I don't get it. My sister (a young adult librarian) loves the series and recommended it but I am struggling through the first one. It's rather boring, not very well-written. It's easy to read, mind you, just not very interesting. I can't seem to get carried away by it like others do. Unless things pick up, I don't see myself pursuing the rest of the series. I could share my copy, too!You're absolutely right: there're not a lot of new ideas, at least, not ones that make sense (vampires sparkle?). And Bella is one of the most boring female lead characters I've ever read! I think it's written for that young adult audience and readers with a little more sophisticated taste may be disappointed. There's certainly none of the dark magic of Anne Rice.I'm going to finish this first book, hoping things pick up…

  6. one critique i heard about meyers' vampire series is that for the most part, the heroine is weak. which makes me leary… i would rather teen girls read stories where the heroine is a strong character. who doesn't need to be rescued all the time.

  7. The "strong heroine" thing is a tough one. I completely agree with the need to have positive role models for girls, but I also try not to sway what kids are reading, just as long as they are reading. In my home reading program, I don't care if my students are reading the huge Harry Potter or Eragon books, or if they are reading Archie comics. As long as they are engaged with the characters and plot points for an extended period of time (and not flipping through a magazine), then I'm happy.

  8. i suppose you are right – the one thing i did like about harry potter was that it got more people, in general, reading. and a big percentage of those readers were youths. but personally, i do need strong, character develpment. a weak heroine would just annoy me. one of the reasons why i could never get into any of the dan brown books was because his female characters, who were suppose to be these strong geniuses, certainly were not portrayed as being anything but… well, a bit of a space cadet. he had no clue how to write female characters. having said that, i have heard that if one can get over that part, his books are pretty interesting. i just couldn't get into it.my husband read the eragon books – i haven't yet. i bought it for him last christmas and he finished them off rather quickly.

  9. Ah yes, Dan Brown. I completely agree with you. I read Da Vinci Code and LOVED it. Then I read Angles and Demons, and really liked it. But by the time I got through Deception Point, I was thoroughly annoyed with how he treated the readers like they were stupid. He'd leave you hanging with some plot "twist", and then back track to it later to explain it to you, just in case you couldn't have gotten there yourself. Argh!

  10. he enjoyed eragon but didn't rave about it. he's definitely a huge LOTR fan. and he likes the harry potter series but as far as fantasies go, LOTR is top on his list.i'm not into fantasy, as much. maybe some sci-fi (very well written out ones) but that's about it. my fave sci-fi/comedy writer is douglas adams. i know – not deep stuff but flippin' hilarious! his books have saved me from the blues many times in the past. in fact, if i don't get 'twilight' by christmas, hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy would be a good book to re-read during the holidays.

  11. Eh, she's certainly not the new Anne Rice but Myers filled in some space with brain candy. It's not deep literature. Book 4 is my favorite out of the series. Book 2 seems extremely over dramatic but describes grief very accurately. Books 1 and 3? meh. *shrugs*

Leave a Reply

